NJC recommends four nominees for appointment as Supreme Court Justices


Four judicial officers have been recommended by the National Judicial Council (NJC) for elevation to the supreme court.

Two out of the four nominees were part of the panel that dismissed the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Atiku Abubakar’s petition which challenged the victory of President Muhammadu Buhari at the 2019 poll.

The National Judicial Council (NJC) recommended the elevation of 20 judges to different courts including the Supreme court, following its second virtual meeting which was held on August 11 and 12. 

The justices who were recommended for elevation to the Supreme Court are Tijjani Abubakar, representing the north-east zone; Mohammed L. Garba from the north-west; Abdu Aboki from the north-west, and Mohammed M. Saulawa, also from the north-west.

Garba was the judge who led the five-man presidential election petition tribunal which heard the petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Atiku Abubakar. Aboki was also on the panel.

In October 2019, the NJC had recommended Adamu Jauro, Emmanuel A. Agim, Samuel C. Oseji, and Helen M. Ogunwumiju (all appeal court justices) for appointment as justices of the Supreme Court, but President Buhari is yet to forward the names of the justices to the senate for confirmation as required by section 231(2) of the constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

The apex court currently has 12 justices, as against the constitutionally required number of 21 at maximum.